MOT emissions fail

Random Caddy chat.
Not the place for sale or wanted topics.
Mikeyp42
Caddy2k Groupie
Engine size/power: 1.9 TDI (104bhp)

MOT emissions fail

Post by Mikeyp42 »

Hi Guys

I have a 2010 caddy 1.9 c20. 200k miles. It has failed the mot on the emissions. They are reading at 4.5, and manufacturers spec is 1.3. The van has only done 1000 miles in the last year. I’m just wondering if anyone has any ideas tips to try and bring emissions down? The mot tester suggested going down the route of new injectors/turbo, since the readings are so excessively high. I’m new to caddy’s but I’m just thinking is it worth stripping down and cleaning out egr valve etc. I have given the van a service but it made no difference at all. The van belonged to an elderly family member who only used it to go to the local shop and back over the course of a year so it hasn’t been run properly in a long time. Thank you.
BenT
100BHP+
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Re: MOT emissions fail

Post by BenT »

A few things to try - it's most likely that the exhaust system's full of soot if it's jut pootled about, so a long run would do it some good to blast some of it out. Millers Diesel Power Ecomax fuel additive has worked wonders for me in the past, but it might take a few hundred miles to work.

I'd also check for a boost leak, this can cause excessive soot emissions. I'm assuming it's soot causing the problem of course - if the engine's burning a lot of oil then this could make (blue) smoke too.

Does it drive well?
Popsicle
Caddy2k Groupie

Post by Popsicle »

As mentioned above give it an 'Italian tune up' ie a good thrashing through the gears, make sure its presented for the MOT retest nice and hot. Fuel additives can help, I regularly use the Millers Ecomax in my 1.9.
In the past I've always found Dipetane fuel treatment to be the best at reducing soot, but it needs to be used at every fill up so it isn't as cost effective as using Millers every 3/4 fill ups.
PeterAFox